Skip to main content
Kevin Harvick Team

Who We Are

About Kevin Harvick Inc.

Follow us on social

Our story

Established in 2001 by Kevin and DeLana Harvick, Kevin Harvick Inc. (KHI) started as a small, single-car organization competing in a limited number of races and within 10 years became a multi-championship organization competing in the top tiers of NASCAR. 

Competing in its first Truck Series race on September 6, 2001, at Richmond Raceway with team co-owner Kevin Harvick in the driver’s seat, the team started the race from the fourth position and led one lap before finishing second, .62-seconds behind winner Jack Sprague. Narrowly missing victory, KHI competed in one additional race in 2001 with Rick Carelli finishing 11th at Phoenix Raceway. 

Running a limited schedule of six Truck Series races in 2002, the team secured its first win at Phoenix Raceway on November 8 with Kevin Harvick. Starting from the third position, Harvick led 77 of 152 laps to secure the organizations first win. KHI again competed in a limited Truck Series schedule in 2003.

Making the leap to full-time competition in 2004, KHI tabbed Matt Crafton as the team’s first full-time driver and entered a second truck for a limited number of races with Harvick. In addition to competing in the Truck Series, KHI expanded to the Xfinity Series in 2004 competing with one full-time car with a rotation of drivers and a second car for a limited number of races. Tony Stewart earned the team’s first top-five finish with a fifth-place finish at Charlotte Motor Speedway on May 29, 2004.

In 2005, NASCAR Hall of Famer and Truck Series champion, Ron Hornaday Jr. joined the organization to compete full time in the Truck Series. Piloting the No. 6 Truck, Hornaday earned one win (Atlanta Motor Speedway, March 18, 2005) and finished the season fourth in the point standings. The organization again entered a second truck for a limited number of races and competed in the Xfinity Series with one full time car and a second car for a limited number of races. Stewart earned the team’s first Xfinity Series win in the season opener at Daytona International Speedway on February 19, 2005. 

Continuing to grow, KHI entered two full-time cars in the Xfinity Series in 2006 with a mixture of veterans and rookies filling the seat. Stewart went back-to-back in the season opener to earn KHI its lone Xfinity Series win in 2006. In the Truck Series, KHI entered one full-time truck with Hornaday and expanded to the ARCA (Automobile Racing Club of America) Series for select races. 

The 2007 season saw KHI compete in all three series with multiple entries in both the Xfinity and Truck Series. Hornaday, the only driver competing full time for KHI, started the season strong with a seventh-place finish in the Truck Series season opener and set sail on a championship season. With 25 races on the schedule, Hornaday earned four wins, 13 top-five finishes and 22 top-10 finishes on his way to earning the 2007 championship. In the Xfinity Series, Bobby Labonte earned one win for the team at Talladega Superspeedway. 

Looking to earn back-to-back championships, Hornaday backed up his 2007 performance with a season highlighted by six wins, 14 top-five finishes and 18 top-10 finishes but came up shy of the 2008 championship, finishing second to Johnny Benson. In the second KHI Truck Series entry, both Harvick and Ryan Newman earned wins. 

With momentum on his side and looking for redemption, 2009 proved to be a highlight season for Hornaday. Following his second win of the season in week 10, Hornaday took the points lead and maintained the top spot for the remainder of the season to capture a second championship for KHI. Hornaday’s week 10 victory was the first in a streak of five straight wins for a total of six wins during the season. The Xfinity program again saw multiple drivers behind the wheel, but most notably team co-owner Kevin Harvick competed in the No. 33 car for 22 races. Harvick earned his first KHI Xfinity Series win at Bristol Motor Speedway in the fourth race of the season. He won again at Atlanta Motor Speedway to score the teams only two Xfinity Series wins of the year. 

With KHI at the top of their game, the 2010 season saw four different drivers winning in the Truck Series including Harvick, Hornaday, Clint Bowyer and Elliott Sadler, for a total of seven wins. The Xfinity Series saw similar success with both Harvick and Stewart winning races for a total of four wins throughout the season. 

Celebrating its 10th anniversary in 2011, KHI announced the 2011 season would be its last season with the Harvick’s making the decision to step away from team owning to start a family while shifting their focus on KHI as a management company. Throughout the season, the team proved its winning ways with Harvick and Hornaday both earning four Truck Series wins and Bowyer and Mike Wallace each adding a win for a total of 10 wins in 2011. The No. 2 truck, piloted by multiple drivers throughout the season, finished the year winning the Owner’s Championship. Reminiscent of how it started, Stewart earned the team its last Xfinity Series win in the 2011 season opener at Daytona International Speedway. 

The organization ended its 10-year run with two Truck Series Driver Championships, one Truck Series Owner Championship, 43 Truck Series wins and 10 Xfinity Series victories. 

In March of 2023, the Harvick’s announced after a 12-year hiatus, KHI would relaunch with a limited Late Model program.

In February 2024, the team transitioned back to full-time racing with Late Model competition. Like the early days of KHI, the driver lineup includes veterans such as Harvick, Ryan Preece and Josh Berry, alongside the next generation of drivers including Brent Crews, William Sawalich and Landen Lewis. 

Our Drivers

Learn more about our talented drivers who make up our roster. 

Learn More